Posted by: Zach | January 31, 2009

Idyl Time

こんにちは、ザックリハインズと申します。よろしくお願いします。(liberal trans. ‘Good day, I’m Zachary Heines. Nice to meet you.’)

It’s almost surreal to write in Japanese and think that three years ago, as I graduated from high school, I had no idea how to even speak common Japanese phrases. For that matter, though, it’s even harder to identify myself as going to Japan in less than two months.

“Wait…” you say. “Two months? Your spring semester starts in *counts fingers* April?”

Why, yes. Yes it does. April 8th, in fact. I’m leaving in late March, though. So in the mean time, I’m in Norman wrapping things up before leaving for my home town, Corpus Christi, TX, to depart, finally, for the exotic destination of Kyoto, Japan.

As I said before, though, it seems absolutely surreal to get to go to Japan. It’s like a dream come true, in fact.

Ever since I applied to OU, I’ve been planning this trip out; in fact, the first semester I was here, I asked my RA to show me to the study abroad office so I could check out the foreign exchange program. I jumped the gun a little, I’ll admit, but now, two years later, it seems that my eagerness to study abroad has finally borne fruit.

In the intervening years, I’ve devoted myself to the study of Japanese and all things Japan. I must admit that if it weren’t for the fact that OU doesn’t offer a Japanese major, I’d have pried my way into more Japanese culture and language classes than I already have.

I’m hoping that my semester in Kyoto can make up for that in full, since I’m the kind of person who can’t get enough of Japan and all things related to her land and culture. That said, I’m really glad to have gotten this opportunity to share my experience and I look forward to posting more as my trip draws nearer.

Leave a Reply

Categories

