Posted by: Brian | February 10, 2009

Calm Before The Storm

That title isn’t completely accurate. This is more like the slightly smaller storm before the really big storm.

Eleven days. That’s how long I have. I’m making a list, checking it twice… you get the picture. I’m a little nervous, a little stir-crazy, and full of so much self-doubt as to the actual level of my language proficiency that I could probably qualify as clinically psychotic.

Every time I see someone, they want to know if it’s the last time they’ll see me before I leave. Invariably, I assure them that of course it’s not, we’ll do something else between now and the 21st. I’m pretty sure I’ll end up forgetting someone, though.

When I do (finally) leave, it’ll be a long trip. I think the total travel time, including layovers, comes out to around 31 hours. I fly from San Antonio to Dallas/Ft. Worth to San Francisco to Hong Kong to Kunming; should be interesting.

I registered with the State Department this afternoon so they’ll know that I’m abroad in case something really bad happens. And, you know, so my parents feel better about the whole thing (I’m also banking on my mom reading this and giving me a hard time for it. *waves at his mother*).

My new luggage is getting in this week, and I’m getting myself a prescription for malaria medication. It isn’t a problem in large cities, but whenever I go out into rural areas it can be an issue.

Other than that, I’m pretty much being accosted on all sides by people who mean well and want to give me advice, but invariably repeat whatever the last few said. That’s always a blast.

Anyway, I can’t wait until I’m actually in China and have something cool to post. I’m looking forward to figuring out Yunnan Normal’s campus, as well as where everything is in Kunming (and which bus route will get me there).

Leave a Reply

Categories

