Posted by: Jeff | March 30, 2009

Classes

So classes have started, and while I have been enjoying them, the schedule is a little strange. I have class from 5-9 on Wednesdays and from 3-9 on Fridays. Having them taught in Spanish isn’t easy, but by far the hardest part is the notation and methods they use to solve problems (which is completely different than we learned in our previous Chemical Engineering courses). On the bright side though, I have met a nice group of local porteños who have been really helpful in acclimating me to life in the engineering facultad. I think they view me as a little bit of an oddity because there are not many exchange students in chemical engineering. I was also shocked to hear that engineering students are often in class for an average of 35-40 hours a week, and that doesn’t include studying and homework.

I haven’t gotten any closer on my visa either. I have all the paperwork taken care of now, but the migraciones office is an absolute zoo. To get a visa there, you must arrive early; I mean really early. I showed up the first time at around 7:00 only to be told around 11:00 that there wasn’t enough room for the rest of us. Supposedly around 4:45-5:00 is a good time to guarantee a spot, but even then you won’t expect to leave with your visa until around 6 pm.

I also went tango dancing for the first time since i got here with a girl from australia. I’m glad that I did it but I doubt that I go back (I think you need to have a certain level of proficiency before it’s worth it).

Responses

  1. Hi Jeff, I just stumbled upon this blog and saw that you went to Argentina. I also went there last fall semester. I see you learned to tango! That’s great, I took a couple classes there as well.

    I just started a blog about my experience in Argentina I think you’d be interested in: http://studyabroadbehappy.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

