Posted by: Bri | April 1, 2009

Better late than never!

Hello! My name is Bri and I’m studying in Arezzo, Italy. Internet is not as easy to come by as I had hoped. I have been here for almost 3 months now. Classes started almost immediately and I was basically thrown in head first into a culture very different from Oklahoma. I have always wanted to come to Italy and have studied Italian for 3 years expecting that I would soon get the opportunity. Here in Arezzo I’ve been studying Art History and Italian mainly along with a few independent studies courses on the History of Italy. It’s hard to condense 3 months worth of experiences into one blog entry so I’ll make a list of things I hope to never forget about this crazy and colorful country.

1. You don’t pull doors open when entering a store, you push them open. I still forget that one sometimes.

2. If you make eye contact with someone, you aren’t supposed to smile or acknowledge the other person, its rare for people to be friendly around here unlike the Midwest.

3. Expect to drink wine at every meal.

4. When you think of food in Italy you think of pizza and pasta. But seriously there is ONLY pizza and pasta. Unless you find a McDonald’s

5. Although fashion is huge in Italy, a lot of people (and mainly girls) dress very unfashionable. The men are the ones with style…a very feminine style.

6. Coffee is really just a tiny glass with an espresso shot. You don’t have coffee to-go that will take you 20 minutes to drink. Starbucks is highly frowned upon and could never survive here.

7. Music scenes don’t really exist here, granted I do live in a small city but I miss seeing live bands!

8. If you want to look cool, wear Timberlands, skinny jeans, and a puffy jacket that looks like a trash bag.

9. When you meet someone in Italy you aren’t just acquaintances. They will embrace you with a kiss to the cheek every time they see you thereafter and may even invite you home to meet their family.

10. I would be scared to death to drive here.

Leave a Reply

Categories

